COVID-19: Saudi Bans Flights From UK, US, 19 Other Countries

Saudi Arabia has banned flights from 20 countries as part of efforts to curtail coronavirus infections.

The temporary suspension would be effective from 9.00 pm (1800 GMT) on Wednesday, the Interior Ministry announced.

READ ALSO: Panic In Federal High Court As Justice Nyako Tests Positive For COVID-19 (See Photo)

The ban applies to neighbouring Egypt and the United Arab Emirates. Lebanon and Turkey are also affected.

In Europe, no more flights from France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Others on the list are Argentina, Brazil, Pakistan, India, Indonesia, Japan, Pakistan, South Africa and the United States.

Saudi citizens, diplomats and health workers coming from those countries, will be allowed to enter “in accordance with the precautionary measures”.

The kingdom has reported 368,000 coronavirus cases and nearly 6,400 deaths, the highest among Gulf Arab states.

Post a Comment